A common motif that runs through my work is that of fern-like plants.

The motif began in February, when I drew a portrait of someone I associate with the Yew. From this, I began styling the motif so that it has a cleaner, simpler style that could be incorporated into most of my work.

I am an animist – I believe everything is alive, aware and responsive, that everything has a soul. My ferns are a visual representation of what I imagine our souls to be (I believe that we have many souls, not just one). Souls start as small seeds, grow and mature with experience, evolve and die with our ideas and views, give off seeds to others when we encounter them.  An exchange of ideas can plant soul seeds in others, they may or may not take hold.

The ferns are my way of incorporating my belief into my work.

